The Foundation was established in 1990 by the descendants of Frederick A.O. Schwarz, who in 1862, as a recent immigrant from Germany, founded the FAO Schwarz toy store, one of the most recognizable and beloved brands in the world.  The Schwarz family sold the toy business in 1964 and the Foundation now provides a license to its current owners to use the FAO name.  Royalties from the business fund the FAO Schwarz Fellowship, whose grantmaking is focused on its signature FAO Schwarz Fellowship program. Descendants of Frederick A. O. Schwarz serve on the Board of Trustees.


Priscilla Cohen, Executive Director

Claudia von Nostitz, Manager of FAO Schwarz Fellowship

Board of Trustees

Alex Millard, Board Chair

Maureen Coffey

Molly Ladd

Peter Schastny

Eliza Ladd Schwarz

William Schwarz

Molly Wing-Berman

Former Trustees

Dorothy S. Hines

Caroline Schastny

Eric Schwarz, Former Chair

H. Marshall Schwarz, Former Chair

Frederick A.O. Schwarz, Jr., Esq., Former Chair

Rae Paige Schwarz

Dr. Elizabeth Wing